True or False – California law requires that employers pay a portion of an employee’s cell phone bill if the employee is required to use his/her personal cell phone for work-related calls – even if the employee has an unlimited data plan and incurs no additional expenses due to the work-related calls, and even if someone else pays the employee’s cell phone bill.
True or False: California law requires an employer to pay an employee for 8 hours of work time for each day the employee is away from work serving as a juror in a trial.
An employee who reports to work on time for a scheduled shift of 8 hours who is sent home due to a lack of work after working 2 hours must be paid ____ hours at his/her regular rate of pay.
A California employer can pay a “learner” wages equal to 85% of the state minimum wage (rounded to the closest nickel) for the first ___ hours of work.
True or False: Most California wage orders allow employers to credit meals provided to an employee against state minimum wage compensation obligations, but only if the employee agrees in writing and the meal is actually taken.
A California employer must provide overtime pay to an employee who works “make-up time” if the employee, in doing so, works more than __ hours in the workweek.